More Than Turkey

Gobble Gobble, Lovlies!! 

Can you BELIEVE it is the week of Thanksgiving? I am stunned, flabbergasted, astounded, stupefied! Where the every-loving snowflake did this year go?

I have so many traditions that need to be jam-packed into this week. 

I’m going to get real with you here, I thought I had longer! I thought I had at least another week! It snuck up behind me, tapped me on the shoulder, and surprised the snot out of me.

So … Let’s get down to business quickly! Traditions that need to be completed this week. Go!

1) Thanksgiving movies. I only have 2 that I watch every year: Dutch and Planes Trains and Automobiles. They are both a bit dated, but still good watches. Oddly enough, they are both John Hughes flicks. Seriously, has he ever written a bad movie?!?

Dutch. Catch it on Netflix. My favorite Thanksgiving film!

Are there any I should be adding to my thanksgiving watch list?

2) The cooking. Oh the cooking!! Since I had a stroke this year, I’m excused from a lot of the cooking … *Thank you, Jesus*. I will be making a ham in the crockpot. But, for the record, here’s a list of things I want at the meal:

Am I forgetting anything important?


Notice I don’t have turkey on that list. I’m not a big fan. I’ll eat my ham, and call it a day. 

What are some foods YOU eat that I should add to that list?

3) The Thanksgiving Song. HELLO?!? I’ve usually already listened to it eleventy-billion times by now! It simply isn’t Thanksgiving until you’ve heard the Thanksgiving song!

Adam Sandler. I’m not sophisticated enough to know how to embed YouTube videos. Click the links above!


4) The Tree. Normally we would go to a Christmas Tree lot, and get a real tree, with all the smells and feels of Christmas. This year, however, we are short on the fundage, so fake it is!! We are going to have to go to my parent’s house, and dig my tree out of storage (*Now that I think about it, I really hope it’s there*).  I’ll have to get a “PINE” candle to recreate the smells. LOL!

It’s white, but all the lights have died. LOL! #stillpretty


5) Thanksgiving Day Parade! I almost forgot this! Holy traditions, Batman! Of all of them, this is the longest-standing tradition we have. As long as I can remember back, we’ve always watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade! Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving  without the parade at least on in the background! Hello?!? How else is Santa going to come to town? 

Santa at the end of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade


And the parade balloons! We have to see all the monstrosities every year!

Ginormous parade balloon


6) Thanksgiving night. When it’s all said and done, we’ve loosened our belts a notch (or worn our turkey pants), watched the parade, and the sleepiness sets in, it’s time for Miracle on 34th Street. I’m not talking about the new version (okay … ONE film associated with John Hughes that is no good). I’m talking about the old black and white version. The one starring Natalie Wood. *sigh* Oh, tradition!

The Original. The Only.


So … What traditions do y’all have? What do I need to add to my jam-packed week of traditions?

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

