Advent??

I’m embarrassed to say that I’m 41, and have no idea what “Advent” is. I hear about it every year at Christmas. We always have an “Advent Calendar,” which, to me, has always just been a fun way to count down the days until Christmas. 

Advent Calendar available through Amazon at link above.

This year, I decided to join an Instagram Advent group (I think it will be #bethelight … But I’ll update on that). Really, it’s a Random Act of Kindness group (organized by @bushelandbobbin), but it coincides with the Advent story. I was all excited about the Random Acts of Kimdness, but then I thought … “Shoot! I should probably find out what this Advent thing is that I’m agreeing to.”

According to crivoice.org, Advent “begins on the fourth Sunday before Christmas Day, which is the Sunday nearest November 30, and ends on Christmas Eve (Dec 24). If Christmas Eve is a Sunday, it is counted as the fourth Sunday of Advent, with Christmas Eve proper beginning at sundown.”

Yay Christmas!

That’s fine and dandy, but what the heck is Advent? I could start reading about Epiphony and everything it coincides with, but my head starts to hurt a little, and I don’t want it to explode.

From what I can gather, and I suppose you could nicely correct me if I’m wrong, but Advent is the time that leads up to the coming of Christ. Back in biblical times, it coincided with the coming of the baby Jesus. In modern times it seems to represent the Church waiting for the “Second Coming.”

I don’t want to get into some religious philosophical debate. I want to keep it simple … For people like me.

For my purposes, and the purposes of this fun Instagram group (anyone can actually follow it), it is going to focus on the Christmas Story. The Real one, not the Santa Clause one. 

The Nativity via storify.com

It will start on Sunday, Novemeber 27 and go through Christmas Eve. Each day, someone will post a verse (I’m not 100% certain, buthoping it is the story of The Birth), and do a Random Act of Kindess that is assigned for that day. So there will be 28 days of verses flooding Instagram, and 28 days of somebody doing nice for somebody! Isn’t that cool?!

But ….

I want to take it further! I want to do something each day. And I want YOU to play along if you so desire! How great would it be if these Random Acts were happening everyday, all over! The world would be so full of love.

Now, I’m very limited right now on what I can do. I’m stuck at home mostly, and have physical limitations. This won’t stop me, though! If you want to participate, just do it!! You can tell us, or you can keep it to yourself. Telling will help motivate people, however. Let’s FLOOD the Internet with random acts of kindness this season!

Be looking for future posts with ideas for each day. You can post on my Facebook: MommaPossum, or my Instagram: amandamoring with what you did. Heck, post on both! Hashtag it #bethelight

I am so excited about this. It makes my heart happy. 

Don’t know where I got this, but it’s so true!!

Be a blessing today. Spread the love. It only takes a second to make someone’s day!

*** UPDATE: there’s a website on Facebook to follow along!!! https://www.facebook.com/bethelightadvent/ ***

Leave a Reply

